Curriculum Information

At Churchdown Parton Schools’ Federation we provide learning opportunities with an increasingly creative approach. This cross-curricular method of teaching and learning allows the children to develop their knowledge and understanding as a whole and not under separate compartments of learning as prescribed in the National Curriculum subjects. 

You can find out more about each year group’s curriculum on the Class pages.

Reception – Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The Reception year marks the end of the children’s foundation stage education, before they move to Key Stage 1. There are seven areas of learning in the EYFS. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

These three areas, the prime areas, are:

• communication and language;

• physical development;

• personal, social and emotional development.

We also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.

The specific areas are:

  • literacy;
  • mathematics;
  • understanding the world;
  • expressive arts and design.

Our school fully supports the principle that young children learn through play, and by engaging in well-planned structured activities. Teaching in the reception year provides a balance between planned/structured activities and child initiated activities.

Click here for further details on the EYFS curriculum

Key stages 1 and 2 (Years 1 – 6)

We teach the National Curriculum to our Key Stage 1 and 2 children according to the Orders laid down by the Government in the 1988 Education Act and subsequent acts.

 The National Curriculum comprises: –

 The core subjects:  English, Mathematics, Science

 The foundation subjects: Art and Design, Computing, Design and Technology, Geography, History, Music, Physical Education

We also teach RE and PSHE.

 Click here for further details on the National curriculum.